Crochet Squares at Make and Do

I treated myself to an evening at Make and Do in Caversham to try to learn how to make a crochet square and what fun I had!

The group at my workshop consisted of six ladies with a range of experience from tried using YouTube and never tried like me! We were in for a treat. Our tutor Natalie was friendly, very helpful, encouraging and full of praise. Luckily for me she also has the patience of a saint!

I found crochet quite hard to start with. I kept forgetting instructions including how to do the stitches! Oops! I don’t usually like finding things difficult, and I don’t often get challenged that much. It was a refreshing change! The knitters learning crochet seemed to find crochet easier than us non knitters, but it didn’t stop us. I was laughing so much at times! Natalie was always very helpful and full of praise. Dare I say I got quite excited when I managed to make a corner by myself. Poor Natalie put up with me asking a lot of questions as was always full of praise. She was so patient! I managed to get there in the end and didn’t want to stop when it came to the end of the session. It’s actually quite relaxing.  Ok, I didn’t finish a blanket square, but I almost feel I could.

So, what’s next?

Well I own a crochet hook and instructions thanks to Make and Do and Natalie. I’m off to buy some wool before the weekend (although my focus should be on my sewing WIP which needs to be finished soon for a wedding next month). I want to make some squares!

I may also now be booked on another crochet workshop at Make and Do – I’ll attempt to make a brooch next!

One thought on “Crochet Squares at Make and Do

  1. Pingback: Make & Do | Mrs M Makes

Leave a Reply

