When my time is engaged…

I seem to be making a lot of cards at the moment. It’s not really my forte, and ideally I’ll spend a lot of time on one to get it perfect. That just doesn’t seem to be happening atm. I should be writing end of year reports and I have the baby sampler that I’m working on, yet a need for cards keeps appearing and I don’t like the idea of buying something I can make!

Congratulations to our friends who announced their engagement on Sunday. Obviously I want to send them an engagement card, but crafting time is limited! I have already blogged about a cross stitch card I made for them when they moved house earlier this year (here) so a cross stitch engagement card (like this) would be too much cross stitch (especially as my WIP is for them) so I needed something different and quick. Unfortunately I can’t always come up with something different that works quickly! After far too long playing around I came up with this simple card:

image

I know they toasted their engagement with champagne bought for their first date, so the toasting glasses in the heart seemed appropriate. How did it take me about an hour to come up with it?

Whilst packing stuff back into my card making box I came across a roll of metal like stuff with hearts cut out of that I bought for not very much a few years back and have never used. Then inspiration for a simple card hit:

image

All the foil is the shiny silver colour – my phone/camera is creating a shadow over part of it. I still don’t know if this will really work as the foil type stuff has been rolled for years and keeps wanting to spring off the card! Some of the glue dots are poking out in the heart shaped holes (but they are hard to see) which means currently it sticks to anything you try to flatten it with. Humph! We’ll have to wait and see…

Whichever card I use at least (hopefully!) I’ll have a spare to use when time is short in the future.
(My reports are way behind schedule now!)

One thought on “When my time is engaged…

  1. Pingback: Heart Cards | Mrs M Makes

Leave a Reply

