Glass Fusing

When I saw an offer for a glass fusing class for £19 on Groupon I decided to give it a go. I don’t usually do more than one workshop a month, but as I had credit on my account, this workshop was effectively free!

Mr M drove me to what looked like a normal house a couple of miles from our house. I was told to go in through the side gate and found a conservatory with tables set up for six people to work at. We were told how glass fusing is basically cutting glass, forming a pattern, putting a clear glass layer either on top or underneath and fusing it together in a kiln.

Our first challenge was to design our items. We could make a suncatcher and either a pendant or cufflinks. We were advised that we should stick to straight lines as curves are hard to do. I couldn’t decide what to do. This is my rough idea:

image

I couldn’t quite decide where the beach should end and the sea should start, hence the green bit! Ignore the purple. I thought I’d picked up a blue!

After the design it was time to learn how to cut the glass. To tell where you want to cut you draw a line with permanent pen. Then basically you score the glass along the line and then snap it! This is my first practice cut:

image

A few more cuts later;

image

And I was ready to start on the coloured glass.

image

It is actually quite difficult to cut exactly as you see it in your head. I had quite a few attempts at my sun:

image

As you can see getting the edges perfectly straight isn’t easy! It probably took me over an hour to get it all looking like this:

image

I changed the colour of the boat, and I’m not quite sure it worked well. I guess I’ll see when it’s finished! Getting some of the pieces to fit was tough. I had to cut some bits quite a few times. There was a grinder that helped me to file down some parts. I had to clean the marker off and placed the hanger on top.

image

For my second piece I decided to do cufflinks as it is Mr M’s birthday in a week and a half. This is my design:

image

They apparently turn round when fired. This was meant to be relatively easy, but small pieces are harder to cut perfectly than big ones. This is what they looked like:

image

All our products are now in the kiln. They will be fired for one and a half days. I’ll be able to pick them up in about a week. I can’t wait to see what they will look like!

I have a new found respect for people who work with glass.

4 thoughts on “Glass Fusing

  1. This looks like such a fun craft to try! And I love the blue you used for your beach scene. It’ll look great when you get it out in the sun

  2. Pingback: Glass Fusing – The Final Products! | Mrs M Makes

  3. Pingback: Stained Glass Lesson One | Mrs M Makes

  4. Pingback: Reading Stained Glass | Mrs M Makes

Leave a Reply

