Upcycling A Necklace

When doing a bit of shopping prior to the new school term, I came across this necklace for £2 down from £10 in BHS.

image

I liked the flowers, but the fully beaded chain made it a bit chunky for me. There was of course the common earring issue too…

Out came the wire cutters and pliers!

First up, I made the earrings using the two outer most flowers, a split ring and earring hooks:

image

I quite liked the silver beads with the flowers, so I kept some in the new necklace design. I reused the lobster clasp and extender from the original necklace, only adding new wire (which I doubled up for strength), jump rings, callotes and crimps. My new necklace is a lot less bulky and more me:

image

In addition to my new necklace and matching earrings, I also have over 30 pearl silver beads to add to my bead stash!

6 thoughts on “Upcycling A Necklace

  1. Pingback: Another source of beads | Mrs M Makes

Leave a Reply

