Maybe it wasn’t such a bargain after all..?

Remember my charity shop find? Well, they’ve started selling Art of Crochet again. I found issue one in the charity shop for 99p, thinking that for just the wool it was a good price. If you buy it when released you get way more:

image

In addition to the wool and magazine, there is a free 4mm crochet hook and a dvd, all for only 99p. Maybe my charity shop find wasn’t such a bargain after all?

I must admit I did buy this and found the magazine to be identical to the earlier version. My theory was that a girl can never have too many crochet hooks! (and curiosity did play a part – was it really the same?). I wouldn’t personally keep buying the magazine as it get quite expensive. If you want to do a blanket full of different squares there are plenty of books out there, as well as blogs and other websites full of patterns, that would work out way cheaper than buying this whole series. I think you’d still make a saving even if you bought very expensive wool. I might dip in and out if a freebie takes my fancy, but I doubt that will happen much.

If you want to know a bit more about what is in the magazine see my earlier post. Hannah Ackroyd has also written a blog post on it and her views, which has some interesting comments from her readers – it’s worth a read.

Are you going to give it a go?

3 thoughts on “Maybe it wasn’t such a bargain after all..?

  1. I’m a knitter, but I have never crocheted before, so I bought this in the hope that it would teach me all I need to know! I have given it a go, and got so far before finding that I’m maybe not cut out for crocheting! I’m not a quitter though, so I’m going to try again when I get some more time. What I really need is someone who knows how to crochet to sit beside me and tell me what I’m doing wrong.

    I don’t think I’ll be buying the full series though – it’s not really worth it for me at that price.

Leave a Reply

