This time next week…

I like to learn new crafts 🙂 I like to try something new on a regular basis, and have made some lovely bits in workshops and have also picked up a few new skills. A while ago I decided I wanted to learn a craft a bit more deeply so decided to do a course. I looked into local colleges to see what courses they run, and nothing really appealed that started in September. With a bit of searching I then found that a local school runs art classes for the general public in the evenings, with some that looked interesting.

I am now on the waiting list for a class in Jewellery which runs on either Monday or Tuesday nights. In these classes you design and create unique pieces of jewellery working in silver, mixed metals and other materials. A course of ten lessons costs only £90, although you do need to pay for materials on top. I’ve only ever made jewellery using bought beads etc. Being able to craft my own would be great, but I can’t do it yet as the course is currently fully booked on both days that it runs. I will get on that course one day!

This time next week I will be on a Creative Stained Glass course. It runs for 5 weeks on Wednesday evenings, but it is not necessarily on consecutive weeks, so whilst the course starts next Wednesday (September 26th) it ends in November (on the 7th). It looks as though I’ll be working on a piece that is roughly A3 in size. I have a few ideas as to what sort of thing I’d like to do, but I don’t have any idea what would work in the time and with no starting knowledge. We will have to wait and see…

For now I have a week to get together the following things:

A piece of 12-15mm thick chipboard – to set out glass on – 450 x 350mm

A piece of horticultural  glass – 450mm x 350mm

2 battens of wood approx. 25mm x 12mm dimension, to fit along two sides of the board. These are used as glazing supports to hold the panel in place and fit along the edges of  the chipboard.

A small hammer

A small amount of Plasticine

A3 sheets of drawing paper and tracing paper

Apron & rubber gloves for cementing

Safety goggles

I only got this today and have already found somewhere that will sell me the glass close to work, so I will pick that up either tomorrow or Friday. The bloke I spoke to was friendly and said I could just pop by as long as it is before 5pm (that is the challenge!). I came home from work via Homebase where I bought the chipboard and wood needed, and a lovely chap there cut it all to size for me. If anyone else wants to do this, I have enough wood for two!

I’m really looking forward to it!

5 thoughts on “This time next week…

  1. You will have a wonderful time- last year I did felt making and it was great. Nothing caught my eye this year which was sad, so I am trying to improve my crochet skills! Looking forward to seeing your stained glass project!

  2. Pingback: Snowflake Card | Mrs M Makes

  3. Pingback: Stained Glass Lesson Two | Mrs M Makes

Leave a Reply

