Bath Abbey and Embroidery – A match made in heaven?

image

Bath Abbey is in the centre of Bath and is a beautiful place to visit. Whilst architecturally it share many features with other abbeys and cathedrals, some parts were a bit different. I was very impressed with the ceiling!

image

I learnt to look up as well as around at a young age and you can be rewarded.

The big stained window over the altar is worth a look at too. It has lots of scenes from Christ’s life, in what is effectively lots of stained glass windows together.

image

I won’t be making my stained glass anywhere near that complicated!

All the way down the left side of the Abbey, there is an exhibition of embroidery and lettering by one woman.

image

Each piece of embroidery has lettering beside it linking it to a section of the bible. As they are hinged together they are technically diptychs.

image

Both the lettering and the embroidery is very ornate:

image

image

Excuse the reflections in the frames – it was quite bright outside! I preferred the embroidery to the lettering and took a photo of quite a few of them to share with you:

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

I managed to get the shadow caused by my head out of most of the photos, but couldn’t take photos without my phone shadow being present. These photos show you only a selection of the embroidery on display and a minute amount of lettering. There is more to see if you visit in person. It is amazing that this was all done by one person in a year!

There are also a few more places you can see embroidery in Bath Abbey. One of the smaller chapels had this behind the altar:

image

One of the women stood near me when looking at this commented that it is very pretty, but a bit dusty! I wouldn’t like to dust an abbey, I can tell you that!

The main altar cloth was also embroidered.

image

I went into Bath Abbey expecting to be exploring the abbey, looking at stonework etc, but I spent more time looking at embroidery than anything else (we were in there for longer than we thought). I recommend popping in if ever in Bath to see both the abbey and the embroidery within.

4 thoughts on “Bath Abbey and Embroidery – A match made in heaven?

  1. Yes, thank you for the e-visit. The embroidery is impressive and I think belongs there along with all the other amazingly beautiful handiwork. Some people are so very talented and it’s lovely that we get to experience their creative works.

Leave a Reply

