Get your thinking hat on!

I f***ing love science shared this photo on Facebook:

image

I want one! As you know I can’t knit, but that doesn’t stop me wanting to have one. Maybe I will learn to knit one day, who knows!

For those who can knit and are interested, a quick google helped me to find the pattern on ravelry. That pattern costs $5, but a fellow blogger has come up with a similar pattern here and it is free of course! Gotta love the blogging community.

As a non knitter I could make a version of this hat. I’d buy a cheap wool hat and then get yarn to roughly match. Using my French knitter (as used to make this brooch) I’d then make a long section of French knitting and sew it to the prebought hat, roughly following the shape of the brain. That would work I think, but would never be quite as cool as the original!

4 thoughts on “Get your thinking hat on!

  1. OMG! That hat is so cool! I have never seen anything like it. I am a knitter, but that looks pretty complicated. I like your idea of purchasing a hat and then I would do that knitting that can be done on a spool with 4 nails (oops, showing my age here) and hook the coil and then sew it on. I’ll have to take a look at the pattern because it is pretty darn neat looking.

  2. ha ha! That’s so funny!

    thanks for your comments on my blog, I can’t reply as I don’t have your email address. So you used to live in Nottingham?? where abouts?

    • I was a student there, but stayed there for a few years and did my teacher training there too, and had my first ever teaching post in Derby, whilst I lived in Stapleford. I haven’t lived there since 2005 though when Mr M’s career brought us south.

Leave a Reply

