Felted Soap

I have never felted anything, ever, so when I saw that Creative Crafts and Workshops were running a workshop on felting soap during my half term, I had to give it a go.

I had a huge range of felting wool to choose from:

image

As I was thinking Christmas presents, I went for Christmassy colours initially. Felting is actually quite satisfying and relaxing. I even managed to only stab myself once with the needle!

After the soap was felted, it was time to embellish. I went for a red flower (it made me think of a poinsetta, which to me is a Christmas flower).

image

Almost there!

image

The felt then needed to be neatened up a bit and pretested before getting ready to be given as a gift for Christmas.

image

The recipient of this will not only have a great, festive looking soap in their bathroom, but they will be able to easily exfoliate their skin every time they use it.

Did I mention that I made two?

image

If you don’t have the time or the equipment to make one of these you can buy one (or more!) from the shop. I personally enjoyed making it and now have a bit of understanding of how to felt 🙂

9 thoughts on “Felted Soap

  1. I have never heard of felt soap. It can really be used? I think a bunch of them would look lovely in a basket in the bathroom. Yours look so cute. Love the poinsettia.

  2. Q – YUM! I’ll have to make some. BTW – hubs and I were just on Poinsettia Way in Encinitas, California yesterday, the “birth place” of the modern poinsettia plant by Paul Eckes.

  3. So you needle felted it? I’ve seen felted soap around the internet but always assumed it was wet felted as that would make more sense to me! Your flower one looks lovely, I think I need to try this!

  4. Pingback: Voting is Open! | Mrs M Makes

  5. Pingback: Faith Hope and Charity Shopping’s Christmas Swap | Mrs M Makes

Leave a Reply

