Stained Glass Lesson Five

Lesson Five was meant to be the last class in my short course in stained glass. As those of you who follow me on Facebook or Twitter will know that I was given the opportunity to continue, and as I’m enjoying it, I am continuing. During the school term I often don’t have much crafting (or even me) time midweek and doing a course like this ensures I have some!

To see how my work has progressed see:
Lesson One
Lesson Two
Lesson Three
And
Lesson Four

Lesson Five should have been my last lesson. Had I bitten off more than I could chew? Was it possible to finish in this time? Most of the others had chosen slightly smaller projects!

The first thing I did was finish off the leading. Luckily you do get quicker after doing a bit!

image

Then I had to attack the joins with a wire brush and rub on flux (which looked like a candle!).

image

Then it was onto soldering! Again this is something you get better at…

image

I then turned it over! I was worried it would fall apart, but my tutor was confident it would hold. She was right. The joins on this side were then also attacked with the wire brush and the flux.

image

The soldering iron (and solder) was used on this second side. My soldering definitely improved with practice.

image

Both sides were then coated in a cement and a white powder which dried the cement out. It now looks like this!

image

And this is the state it came home in. It looked better before! However this is an important step. I will clean it off at home and show you the result when it is done…

4 thoughts on “Stained Glass Lesson Five

  1. You are doing a fantastic job at stained glass. I can’t wait to see this piece after it’s cleaned up. It looked fantastic before the cement went on.
    I received my prize package in the mail yesterday. Thank you so much! I love everything you sent. I will post photos on my blog in the next few days.

  2. fabulous! Can’t wait to see it all clean! I’m working on leading too, the first couple of weeks went really slowly as I was also doing the circular cuts for the glass nuggets, but now I’m just leading for a bit and it should go quite fast… must do an update!

Leave a Reply

