Mania for Making Crafts?

Just over a month ago I posted about a Daily Mail article about crafting being in fashion. After work on Thursday I logged onto WordPress and Facebook and found that a few people had put links to an article on the BBC News Website:

Etsy, Folksy and the Mania for Making Crafts

Opinions seem to be divided on the start of the article. Some say it is a bit condescending. The majority of the article gives some interesting numbers on people selling their crafts as well as short interviews with a few who do just that. If you have five minutes, I’d recommend reading it.

What with Kirstie’s Vintage Home starting on Thursday (I haven’t yet watched it – it is recorded waiting for me!), which although not a craft programme has crafting on it, and is on mainstream TV, crafting is definitely getting a lot more press at the moment. If you see the BHS Christmas collections this year, you can buy sewing machines and sewing boxes. You never used to see that a few years ago!

I’m starting to think crafting is “in”, but I’m not sure it up to mania levels yet. What do you think?

6 thoughts on “Mania for Making Crafts?

  1. There were BHS sewing kits in last year’s collection, I was tempted but didn’t get back into crafting until over the summer. Now I have so many projects on the go I don’t know which one to do when! x

    • I know that feeling!

      I am definitely buying my little sister something from their ketchup collection. When she was little my Mum carried a bottle in her handbag as my sister coated everything in it and buying sachets was too expensive!

  2. I am not sure if it is more popular or if people have noticed and are cashing in on it and flushing crafters out of their houses? I think that the economic situation may also have something to do with it.

  3. Pingback: 6 *free* and simple ways to advertise your crafting business « Family Bugs Blogging

  4. I like that Kirstie has raised the profile of crafting, but I don’t think she’s the right person to do it. She’s far to annoying and smug and talentless!

Leave a Reply

