It’s beginning to look a lot like a Christmas present…

I was beginning to worry that I wouldn’t finish my parent’s Christmas present in time, but after this weeks stained glass class I’m now feeling a lot more confident that I will.

Last week I started leading my star. None of the photos show you the scale, so this looks like an easyish job. If I tell you that the whole thing is roughly 25cm square, then you’ll have an idea of the size of the middle! I had a lot of help to get to this:

image

Part of the issue is that there are so many pieces all linked together that when you move one, they all move! My teacher suggested that I solder the middle together to stop this happening.

image

Then leading the rest was a lot easier, although I made a few trips to the grinder and trimmed a few with my glass knife.

image

I just about had time to solder one side before going home.

image

There are a few bits of soldering on this side which I’ll tidy up next week and then I’ll solder the other side. I’ll cement it too, and then I guess I’ll have to do the rest at home. Cleaning off the cement and polishing can be done relatively easily on my lounge floor. I’ll just need to find a time slot to do it!

3 thoughts on “It’s beginning to look a lot like a Christmas present…

  1. This is really coming together! I’ve loved watching you create this, I’m a little intimidated by all the soldering and working with glass it entails but it looks marvelous when you do it.

Leave a Reply

