Sewist’s Secret Santa

Back in November I told you all about Krafty Kat’s Secret Santa. It was the last Christmas swap I joined, and was a bit different to the others that whilst I knew who I was buying stuff for and sending it to, I had (and still have) no idea who was getting me bits! This is how secret santas are supposed to work after all! Part way through December I received a parcel that contained two little parcels:

image

After reading the card I realised it was my Secret Santa presents and decided to wait until nearer Christmas. Whoever was my Santa had read my blog and apologised for not getting something glass related, but hoped that whatever she’d sent (I’m presuming she!) would be useful whenever I sewed… I still resisted, but virtually as soon as I got back from my parents I had to give in!

image

What a lovely little tin I found. It’s a Cath Kidston pin tin, but when I opened it I found a bit more….

image

Every girl needs a seam ripper as well as 200 pins! I then opened the other parcel…

image

and found a tomato pincushion. I intend to do a lot more sewing in 2013 and want to learn how to make my own clothes, so all of this will be very useful. Whoever my Santa is, THANK YOU!

If you want to know what I sent it will be revealed below. I’m not going to disclose who I sent it to however. It’s up to you…

Still interested?

Keep going….

Almost there…..

OK then, you must want to know…..

The person who I sent something to is a well established blogger who makes some pretty amazing clothes. Not only does she make modern stuff, following patterns by current, independent designers, but she also uses vintage patterns. I’m very envious of her skills. She’s only had a sewing machine for three years, yet you would think she’d been professionally trained…

I decided to buy fabric….

And went for a pattern, not a particular type of fabric, just for something that caught my eye.

Wanna see it? The light wasn’t quite right, but here it is….

image

It is a stretchy fabric, which I could never sew. The background colour is navy, and the pink bits you can see are butterflies. I think it’s really pretty and hope she does too. I bought 1.2m, which should be enough for a top, but swallowed most of my £5 budget. I also wanted to send a little something made by me. I made a pair of earrings and sent a homemade card too:

image

Hopefully my Santee will like it as much as I liked my presents. I have followed her blog since before I got paired with her and can’t wait to see what she makes with the fabric…

3 thoughts on “Sewist’s Secret Santa

Leave a Reply

