Twit Twoo

In November I won this lovely fabric from The Sewing Boutique:

image

Isn’t it lovely?

Last week I decided to make something for two little daughters of one of my good friends. I was watching an episode of Kirstie’s Vintage Home and on it they made softies. I thought “I can do that!” and knowing that I already owned fabric, stuffing, and other notions, I didn’t even need to go shopping!

image

I used iron on webbing on the back of the wings, eyes and beak to help adhere them to the background colour, and to minimise fraying. I first did applique using a sewing machine when making my Christmas gift bags and this seemed like a good opportunity to practice this skill.

image

I raided my button jar for eyes (the youngest girl is almost 2, so this should be OK) and after originally thinking of using black buttons, I changed my mind! After hand sewing the buttons, I placed front sides together and sewed round the edges, leaving a gap for stuffing.
Here they are after turning the right way around…

image

I love the way the fabrics go together. If I was to do this again I think I’d do a blue beak for the bluer owl. I had originally thought of having pink eyes, but I wasn’t sure convinced, so went for white instead.

I left them at this point as we had to head out. After many drinks that evening I went a bit stuffing crazy! A few days later I removed a lot of stuffing and then hand sewed across the bottom.

Ta Dah!

image

This isn’t the best photo angle! Whilst there are things I could do better next time, I’m quite pleased with my first ever softies. Hopefully the girls will be too.

Each owl needed:
Half a fat quarter for the front and back
Scraps of fabric for the wings, eyes and beak
Iron on webbing
Two buttons
Stuffing
And of course a sewing machine and thread.

Most crafters, like me, will probably already have all of these in their stash.

If I was making them for younger people I would not use buttons in the middle and would sew a darker small circle of fabric instead.

I’ll let you know if I get any feedback from the girls/their Mum.

8 thoughts on “Twit Twoo

  1. Pingback: Wrist Pincushion | Mrs M Makes

Leave a Reply

