My strange shaped body!

I tacked together the front and back of my top this week and tried it on. Well, that was a bit eye opening!

My whole class (luckily for me they are all lovely!) had to analyse the fit to see if any adjustments needed to be made. The most obvious one was the way it sat around my chest – it almost appeared to be gaping! I have an ample bosom and am going to have to put an extra dart in at the front to cope with this. I have no idea how I’ll cope with that when putting it back together. I think this is different to the FBA which I’ve heard of on various sewing blogs.

One shoulder didn’t quite sit right, so I’m going to have to sew it down slightly. My tutor said that my shoulders are wonky! Apparently it is common. She said you could see how one shoulder is quite square and the other is more rounded. I guess that’s why some bought tops slide off one shoulder!

Here it is pinned to show how much to take in on the shoulder:

image

I have a few other small tweaks to make it fit better. Other than my wedding dress, this will be my first made to fit piece if clothing!

I’m now see why people do muslins first!

5 thoughts on “My strange shaped body!

Leave a Reply

